Teaching for the first time – Josh Gallas

I taught my first 3 hour class yesterday on lighting for intro to film! I never realized how exhausting teaching is. Keeping my energy up and talking for 3 hours is not the easiest task.  But it was a blast! Here are some points I got off the internet that helps me when preparing how I was going to do the class.

Who are my students?

  • demographics (age, ethnicity, gender mix, etc.).
  • predispositions (hopes, fears, positives/negatives, level of interest).
  • knowledge of/experience with subject/me.

In what context will my students engage with course information?

  • large lecture hall, small seminar room or classroom.
  • lighting and sound issues.
  • time of day.

Take into account the “me, here, now.”

  • Picture yourself as a member of the audience and ask “How does this message affect me, here, now?”
  • Me, here, now translates into what you as a sender have to offer your students/receivers—what they will be able to understand, accept, support, consider important—because it matters to them.

Establish cognitive / behavioral objectives for student learning:

  • What do I want my students to know?
  • What do I want my students to do with what they knowAnalyze, synthesize, apply, evaluate?
About utagtateaching

This blog is dedicated to providing resources to the Graduate Teaching Assistants in the UTA MFA program pertaining to teaching strategies, methods, and materials. We aim to start a public discussion that serves to enhance the classroom experience for both teacher and student.

Leave a Reply

